Chapter 2.5

Welcome back to another chapter of Random Branches! In the last chapter, Lucian Dracule visited Alexandra Alto in after Alistair Mathiasen brought it to his attention that there was a young Rand outside of Moonlight Falls and inside of Bridgeport. Initially it did not seem like Alexandra was going to budge, but then Darius attacked the place, injuring Lucian in the process. After that she decided that with Atton was the safest course of action. And Canderous had just been brought to the Rand house in Moonlight Falls by Alistair. And now on with the story.

The first few weeks were hard. Canderous knew none of them and missed his mom terribly. It did not however stop Kreia from giving Canderous a new wardrobe. Luckily, Canderous and Sion both got along relatively well considering they were toddlers. Toddlers used to being the center of attention.

The entire family pitched in to work on teaching both Sion and Canderous their essential skills. Even Kreia took time to help out even though she had her work cut out for her with her job hunting. It seemed like Alexandra didn’t do any of that when she had Canderous. But both Sion and Canderous were smart and learned their skills quickly.

It was a couple of months after Canderous arrived when Atton received a letter addressed to him with no return address. It read:

Dear Atton,

       I have a feeling that you and your family will never truly forgive me for what I did to you. But I assure you that I had Canderous’s best interests in mind when I left with him. If I had known that what you said about Bridgeport was true, I would not have gone there. I would not have gone to a place where I knew Canderous would be in danger. I hope you can find it in your heart to believe me about that.

      I did love you when you asked me to move in with you. I truly did. But at the time, a committed relationship was not right for me. I never did think to even explain myself to you about that. My parents divorced when I was just ten years old. When I got older my mother told me why. My father had cheated on my mom with his circle of female friends. My mom put herself into a committed relationship and the divorce broke her. I was only twelve when she got committed to a psychological ward for the break down she had. I lived with my grandparents for a few years until my mother was released. It also explains why I was so so fearful of you having any kind of relationship with any female. I am sorry if that caused you to lose any friends.

     The reason I am writing you is to ask you one last favor. I know it will be hard for you to keep as Canderous gets older, but I need you to try to do as I say one last time. My mother and maternal grandparents have finally gotten me into an arranged marriage with a gentleman in high society. However, the one condition is that I be a virgin. Since no one outside of Moonlight Falls with the exception of some criminals in Bridgeport knows I had Canderous, I need you to try to keep our son from trying to meet me. I know that one day he will get curious and that you will not be able to lie to Canderous about me and say that I am dead. It is why I can not tell you where I am and it is why there is no return address on the envelope.

     I have enclosed a letter for Canderous for when he begins to get curious about me. I hope the letter will be able to answer all of his questions or that you and your family will be able to come up with an answer that will satisfy his curiosity. You may read the letter if you wish to know what it says.

     I will never forget you or Canderous. I will regret not being able to be there for Canderous as he grows up to be the man he will become. I know Canderous will be loved and that you’ll find someone who will treat Canderous like one of their own. And for that I am grateful.

Sincerely,

Alexandra

Atton decided to not read the letter addressed to Canderous. At least not until Canderous himself got curious about his biological mother. He didn’t need to open up the can of worms that reading about Alexandra would bring.

Atton did begin to spend more time with Bailey. Pip would have been over more, but he was busy with a toddler of his own. Everyone in the house loved Bailey and knew she wasn’t bad for Atton.

Soon Bailey was spending nights over, sleeping in Atton’s old bed. She’d play with Sion and Canderous without a single complaint. She even got along well with Sinbad. Though, everyone tried to keep Sinbad’s profession away from Bailey. Somehow despite someone being loud and telling the entire town that Sinbad was a crook, Bailey Swain missed the memo. And Bailey was an officer of the law.

It was one evening after they put Canderous to bed when Atton suddenly felt the urge to kiss Bailey. He nervously kissed her lightly and said, “I… I hope that wasn’t… wasn’t too forward of me.”

Bailey didn’t say anything. Instead she pulled him to a kiss. She had been waiting a long time for this. It had pained her to see Atton go after Alexandra in the first place. She had had a crush on Atton since high school. But he had been so distracted and nervous as a kid and Bailey still didn’t know why.

“I guess not,” Atton said, sheepishly, “So, uh, do you want to make it official? You already stay here practically twenty-four seven and we’ve just shown each other how we feel about each other.”

“Yes. Let’s make it official.”

It didn’t take long for Bailey and Atton to take it to the next level and Bailey moved in. With her funds that she had they remodeled the place and finished the house plans that the Immortal Council had provided. Not every room was furnished yet, but they were slowly working on it. The family was just glad for a second bathroom.

Bailey purchased some planters and an alchemy station to work on her dream. Becoming an alchemy master. However, she enjoyed her police work and stayed on the force. She figured she’d go into Forensics and work the local crimes and analyzing evidence.

A couple more months pass happily for the Rand family. Soon Atton decides the time is right. He gets down on one knee.

“Bailey, I know I broke your heart when I went after Alexandra, but I know now that you are the the one for me. You love me for who I am. Not for what I might be able to become. You tolerate my quirks and love my family. And that’s all I ever dreamed for. I want to grow old with you. Will you marry me?”

At first Bailey didn’t know what to think of Atton getting down on one knee. but once he started speaking, she knew. She waited for the question to come out of his mouth before saying, “Yes!”

The pair talked and called friends and decided the wedding was going to be that weekend. Because they’ve loved each other long enough.

And that’s where this chapter will end! How will the wedding go? Will Atton finally be happy? Will Canderous get too curious about his parentage? Find out in chapters to come!

Progress towards Atton’s goals:

  • Master an instrument – Piano at level 8
  • Get married – He is engaged
  • Join Music Career – Achieved Chapter 1.8 when Alistair got Atton a job.
  • Learn all songs – He knows all his skill level gives him
  • Become Hit Movie Composer – He’s level 4 – Band Manager
  • Know all co-workers – Achieved Chapter 1.8 when Alistair got Atton a job (a mod from Twallan)
  • Befriend 1 co-worker – Achieved Chapter 2.0. Pip Goodfellow and Atton are already Best Friends.
  • Level 5 Logic – He’s got none.

Progress toward’s Mira’s goals:

  • Grow a garden with every plant from the store (She’s gotten everything from the store except what requires 7 or higher gardening skill, we’ve hit winter so progress is slow)
  • Master gardening skill (Level 8.)
  • Get married (Accomplished Chapter 1.0 when Mira married Sinbad)
  • No woohoo until married (Accomplished Chapter 1.0 as Mira never woohooed before marrying Sinbad)
  • Have a boy and a girl (Accomplished Chapter 1.1 as they have 2 boys and 1 girl as of that chapter)

Progress toward’s LTW’s

  • Mira – Illustrious Author: Level 2 Painting, Level 6 Writing
  • Sinbad – Master Thief: Cat Burglar – Level 9
  • Atton – Hit Movie Composer: Band Manager – Level 4
  • Bailey – Alchemy Artisan – 2 potions thrown, Level 5 Alchemy
6 comments on “Chapter 2.5

  1. Awww. Atton. That’s so sweet. Ok, Alexandra was sweet to send the letter to Atton to explain herself, and one for Canderous too, that’s double sweet. How about this was just a sweet chapter, since I’ve said that word way too many times in this comment? LOL. 🙂

  2. amandralynn says:

    Aww! I like them together! And Alexandra has redeemed herself in my eyes a bit. That letter was very sweet. 🙂

  3. lilmonster says:

    I know it’s probably wrong of me – but I don’t care about Alexandra’s letter. She is a selfish little girl, and while she says she loves her son and wouldn’t have put him in danger – a responsible adult would have at least checked into her Atton’s claims that there was danger for his blood there 😦

    • Seera says:

      Part of Alexandra’s disbelief was due to Atton’s quirks. He does hear voices and didn’t keep that from Alexandra. She figured that since she heard nothing of any such danger from the other Rands and only from Atton that it was his quirks and not reality speaking. She’s also roughly 19-20 years old. The completely rational side of the brain hadn’t fully finished developing yet.

      And while Alexandra’s reasoning behind the letter was selfish, considering Darius is still out there, keeping Canderous from Alexandra is in the best interest of the Rands. Though she wasn’t lying when she said she loved him.

  4. Colorist40 says:

    Hooray, he finally saw the light and got the girl that he should have been with her from the beginning.

Leave a Reply

