Chapter 2.7

Welcome back to another chapter of Random Branches! In the last chapter Atton and Bailey got married. And Bailey expressed interest in trying to adopt Canderous. And now on with the story.

“You want to get in touch with Alexandra?” Atton reiterated.

“Yes. So that I can go about adopting Canderous,” Bailey said.

“I don’t know where she’s living now or anything.”

“Do you know if she’s still got the same cell phone number?”

“Wouldn’t hurt to try, but I told you what she said in the letter. I don’t want to get her in trouble with her husband.”

“Just call during the day and ask if it’s fine to discuss Canderous at this time. And if she says it isn’t to call when it is a good time and you’ll call back in a few days if you don’t hear back.”

“I don’t know.”

“Give me her number, I’ll call her.”

Bailey got the number from Atton and then spent some time on a hunch. Atton wasn’t technically Canderous’s legal guardian. She had talked to Lucian about what all Alexandra did. Which put both her and Atton in legal hot water to some degree. Hopefully, this number was still active and she wouldn’t have to go through legal channels to do this.

She waited until mid afternoon to call.

“Hello,” Alexandra said.

“Good afternoon, Alexandra. It’s Bailey Rand.”

“How did you get this number?”

“My husband still had it in his phone. Is it safe to discuss Canderous? I’m not looking to get you in trouble with your husband.”

“Yea, he doesn’t get home for a few hours. Did something happen to Canderous?”

“No, no, he’s fine. I just wish to adopt him and I can’t as long as you retain your parental rights.”

“I’m not sure I want to do that.”

“I’m an officer of the law. Want me to tell you what would happen should something happen to Atton?”

“What… what would happen?”

“First, I’d be obliged to tell them that I’m not his biological mother and that I was unable to adopt him as his biological mother still had her parental rights. I’d also be obliged to tell them who his mother is,” Bailey let that sink in for a second before continuing, “Then the police would be obliged to get in touch with you. And they might not be so willing to wait until it’s safe for you to discuss Canderous.”

“Alright, alright. I’ll at least come up with a reason to come visit this weekend that won’t get my husband following or curious.” Alexandra then hung up the phone.

“Alright, she’s coming this weekend,” Bailey said to Atton when he got home from work that night.

The rest of the week went by slowly. Bailey got the rest of the Rands to agree to not get Alexandra angry. Or at least to wait until after everything had been signed.

Soon the weekend came and Alexandra arrived.

Alexandra, Bailey, and Atton sat at the dining room table to discuss Canderous.

“I don’t want to give up my parental rights only to find out he ends up in an orphanage should something happen to both of you,” Alexandra started.

“Let’s work on a list of an order. Who gets Canderous,” Bailey said, “Atton first. Then me. Then Atton’s parents. Do we want to put Atton’s siblings ahead of your parents, Alexandra?”

“Well, I’m an only child. I don’t want my father’s influence on my son. And my mom is too old to be raising a kid on her own. So I suppose Carth and Kreia can go ahead of my mother. Then after them is my mother, and then me.”

“What if he’s say 17? Sion would be 18 at the time and able to be legal guardian.”

“He’s that that…” Alexandra began.

“He’s a person, Alexandra,” Bailey said, “Just because he looks different and is an alien doesn’t make him a thing.”

Alexandra glared at Bailey, but said, “Yea, I suppose. Better than the lie being exposed. I also want to be kept in the loop of major events in his life. Graduations, championships, that kind of thing. I’ll create a PO Box for you to send things to.”

“Works for me,” Atton said.

The three then wrote down everything they had agreed upon and signed and dated it. Alexandra then bid the family farewell.

It didn’t take long for Bailey to then get the adoption process started and finalized.

But that wasn’t the only change in the household. Carth had finally taken some initiative and joined up with the local football team. And with that he had enough money to get a place of his own.

Kreia also had found a new place to live. However, unlike Carth, Kreia’s new place was not inside of Moonlight Falls.


“Dad, I’ll be careful. It’s not like I’m moving to Bridgeport or back to Twinbrook. I’m moving to Storybrook County. I’ve even got a room mate. His name is Brett Wallis. I even talked with Alistair to see if he could do a background check on him. He’s clean as a whistle,” Kreia said, neglecting to mention she was going into the criminal career.

“I still don’t like it. Not with Darius still out there still looking to harm me through my family,” Sinbad said.

“Neither you nor the Immortal Council can stop me from moving outside of Moonlight Falls. I’m a big girl. I can take care of myself and handle the consequences of my actions.”

“And you’re putting your room mate at risk.”

“I”ll tell him when the time is right.”

While Sinbad did not want Kreia leaving the safety of Moonlight Falls, he knew she was right. There was nothing he or the Immortal Council could do beyond advise against it. Goodness knows Alistair tried.

And life went on at the Rand residence and soon Canderous was school aged like his uncle Sion. The two got along very well. And they were constantly staying up too late to play video games.

However, they were the only two up when Sinbad came home one evening after being handed the reigns of Moonlight Falls’s thieves guild. He had done it. Taken over. Now he had the hard choice of whether or not to keep his group local or go national. But that could wait until morning. He had two little squirts to deal with knowing his career.

They were sworn to secrecy though. At least when it came to Bailey. She was not to know of just what his new job was. Or his old job. Sinbad had a feeling that Atton knew, however. So he needed to have a talk with his son. He didn’t want his career to almost kill two relationships.

Bailey had been given a hard case. Someone was orchestrating very complicated burglaries. And managed to not even get pictured by the cameras. She even talked to Sinbad about the problem and he had given her some advice. “Even the best criminals eventually make a mistake. Just be patient, the one you’re after will eventually make a mistake. A mistake that you’ll be able to run with and catch him.” Of course Sinbad had gotten enough details to know that she was after him.

Cat and mouse and poor Atton was going to be in the middle if Bailey discovered the identity of the thief she was looking for.


Wolfgang was a toddler soon and that meant it was time for him to learn his skills. He was soon walking and talking as he was a fast learner. It was a relief to everyone that he picked up skills fast. Everyone in the house seemed to be busy with work related things. Mira’s publisher was getting on her case about a novel. Sinbad was constantly on the phone or out of the house. Atton was finally part of the music players the theater and was having to do a lot more at home practice. Bailey’s hard case was pulling her focus a lot.

It was late one night when they heard the doorbell ring. Mira answered the door and just about screamed. It was an alien.

“Sorry for scare. Sion here?” the alien asked.

“And who do you think you are?” Mira asked.

“Sion’s mother,” Sinbad bad slipping by the alien, “We meet again. He is still here, but he’s probably in bed.”

“Need speak with Sion. Teenage birthday soon if calculations correct.”

“I’ll go wake him and then I need to do some planning,” Sinbad said.

Sion came out of his room and greeted the alien, “So you’re my mother.”

“Correct.”

“So did you not want me and gave me to my dad? And how did you get him to have a child with you? Father says that babies happen when two people really love each other. My father doesn’t really love you. He loves Mom,” Sion said, trying to wrap his head around the situation and what he knew.

“He not had procreation talk?” the alien asked Mira.

“We usually wait until they are a teen to have that talk, so no, not yet.”

“Can I answer or tell him get answer when he’s older?”

“He’s close enough. Just no telling Canderous, Sion. And I’ll know if you do.”

Sion nodded.

“Sims from this world procreate through woohoo. Female gets pregnant and have baby. Sims from my world have no ability to get pregnant. Lost that ability. Need surrogate. Females from this world reject alien baby. Males do not.”

“So my father isn’t really my father?”

“He is father. Complicated science stuff means we have to mix DNA to keep males from rejecting. No amount of mixing DNA with female surrogate stop rejection. DNA mixing results in you having hair.”

“Ok,” Sion said.

“Tell you that not reason for visit. My visit to explain about powers we get when we hit teenage years.”

The alien, who finally introduced herself as Exe Pa’Lhaxalic, then spent an hour or so talking with Sion about what to expect when he aged to teenager.

And that’s where this chapter ends. Will Sion adjust to his new powers when he ages to teen? Will the adults of the house finally catch a break and be able to actually relax on their days off? Find out in chapters to come!

Progress towards Atton’s goals:

  • Master an instrument – Piano at level 9
  • Get married – Achieved Chapter 2.6 when Atton married Bailey
  • Join Music Career – Achieved Chapter 1.8 when Alistair got Atton a job
  • Learn all songs – He knows all his skill level gives him
  • Become Hit Movie Composer – He’s level 6 – Quartet Member
  • Know all co-workers – Achieved Chapter 1.8 when Alistair got Atton a job (a mod from Twallan)
  • Befriend 1 co-worker – Achieved Chapter 2.0. Pip Goodfellow and Atton are already Best Friends
  • Level 5 Logic – He’s got 1.

Progress toward’s Mira’s goals:

  • Grow a garden with every plant from the store (She’s gotten everything from the store except what requires 7 or higher gardening skill, we’ve hit winter so progress is slow)
  • Master gardening skill (Level 9.)
  • Get married (Accomplished Chapter 1.0 when Mira married Sinbad)
  • No woohoo until married (Accomplished Chapter 1.0 as Mira never woohooed before marrying Sinbad)
  • Have a boy and a girl (Accomplished Chapter 1.1 as they have 2 boys and 1 girl as of that chapter)

Progress toward’s LTW’s

  • Mira – Illustrious Author: Level 2 Painting, Level 6 Writing
  • Sinbad – Master Thief: Master Thief – Level 10 – MET Chapter 2.7
  • Atton – Hit Movie Composer: Quartet Member – Level 6
  • Bailey – Alchemy Artisan – 2 potions thrown, Level 5 Alchemy

~~~

Author’s Note: I don’t know if Mira or Bailey will get their respective LTW’s. They’re both adults in game and with as hectic as the household’s been, it might be some time. I’ll probably have Sinbad retire when he hits elder to help out with the household chores that Bailey and Mira have to do.

Now that Mira is at level 9 gardening, once Spring rolls around and they can actually plant stuff, I’ll probably have Mira take down every plant and grow one of everything the store has to finish up her last requirement.

7 comments on “Chapter 2.7

  1. I like Sion’s mother. She’s cool. I’m excited to see what powers aliens have. Heehee. Sinbad’s looking good in his thief getup. 😀

  2. amandralynn says:

    Ugh. Alexandria gives me mixed feelings. I feel bad for the kid. 😦

  3. hrootbeer says:

    I’ve never seen anyone who has played out the alien baby. It’s really interesting.

    • Seera says:

      He was my first. And it’s not like my story is a realistic one. I already have vampires, fairies, werewolves, etc.

      • hrootbeer says:

        True. I had to really think about putting all of the supernatural elements into my stories. I’ve never been sorry about it. I like the extra drama it adds.

        • Seera says:

          I also have not been sorry that I’ve added in supernatural elements. I can get away with some more of what the game offers due to it. I got away with making Sinbad and Mira fresh YA’s in Chapter 1.5 because I could pull on supernatural elements.

  4. Colorist40 says:

    Wow that sucks having a mother pop up on your doorstep from another planet at that lol. Glad to see Sion handled it well.

Leave a Reply

