Chapter 3.0

Welcome back to another chapter of Random Branches! In the last chapter, the fall out from taking Darius down was dealt with, Obi Wan grew up to a YA, and Sinbad and Bailey passed away. And now on with the story.

Obi had been out working when Bailey had passed away. He got home to see his father crying in the family living area. “Dad, what’s wrong?” Obi asked, but he couldn’t help but notice the urn in the room.

“Bailey, your mother… she’s… she’s…” Atton choked out and was unable to finish his thought before Obi pulled him into a hug and he just let himself cry.

Obi just let his father cry into his shoulder and felt tears of his own fall. It shocked him a bit. He hadn’t had a good relationship with Bailey since before she divorced his father. He supposed some of it was due to still feeling the absence of Grandpa Sinbad. Sinbad might not have been the world’s best dad, but he was the world’s best grandpa and Obi missed him.

But Obi knew his father had never stopped loving Bailey and knew that her death so soon after his father’s and his sister’s had to have hit hard. “I’ll start making the phone calls, Dad,” Obi said and stepped into the study.

“Hey, Uncle Carth, it’s Obi.”

“Afternoon, Obi. I take it you’re calling because Bailey or Atton have passed away?”

“Bailey. How did you guess it was a death?”

“You’re not the only perceptive Rand, Obi. How is your father taking it? I’ve got a feeling you and your sisters aren’t taking it that hard considering your strained relationship with her.”

“I’m taking it harder than I expected. I don’t think think it’s been as hard as with Grandpa for the girls. I don’t hear them like I did when Grandpa and Grandma died.”

“I’ll be over shortly.”

“You don’t have to do that, Uncle Carth.”

“I know, but I know my brother. He’s going to need someone to lean on and you can’t bear that by yourself and get the funeral planned and your sisters don’t need to either. And it will be a few days before either Wolfgang or Canderous get here due to how far away they are.”

Obi thanked Carth before stepping out and getting Atton’s phone from him and used it to get Pip’s number.

“I’m going to save both of us a lot of time. I’m not buying…” Pip started.

“Pip, it’s Obi Rand.”

“Hey, what’s up?”

“Bailey died earlier today.”

Pip was quiet for a while before saying, “Damn. No matter how hard you prepare mentally for it, it’s hard for me to accept that my friends are starting to die of old age. Shit. I’ll be by later on today or tomorrow to see your father.” Pip then hung up, obviously taking the loss of his best friend hard.

Obi then called Wolfgang.

“Hey, Wolfgang, it’s Obi. Is now a good time?” Obi prayed his brother wasn’t under cover again.

“No.”

“Call back when it is.”

“Just spill.”

“Call back.” Obi then hung up on his brother. Two hours later he got a call back.

“Ok, what’s so damn critical you didn’t check with my boss first as I’ve mentioned numerous times and then couldn’t tell me when you got through?” Wolfgang said, obviously irritated.

“Shit, sorry, Wolfgang. Mom died earlier today. I wasn’t thinking about protocol on your end, I hope I didn’t get you into too much trouble.” Obi waited for a response for a bit before saying, “You still there, Wolfgang?”

“Yea, sorry. I shouldn’t have bitten your head off. I was quiet because Mom dying hit hard. Especially after Grandpa and Aunt Kreia.”

“It’s ok. I know you were close to Grandpa and Aunt Kreia. And I know you and mother had a better relationship than she did with us younger kids. I’ll see you when you get here.”


Obi finished making the calls and helped clean up around the house before turning in for the night. He rolled over in the middle of the night suddenly and couldn’t fall back asleep. He got up and decided to go out to the garden out front and talk to his grandparents. He stepped out of the bedroom and froze. His grandmother was sitting on couch.

“I was hoping you would come out before morning,” Mira said, standing up.

“You… you came down to see me?” Obi asked.

“I saw you were taking it hard and not really having anyone to lean on. I asked Eleanor if she couldn’t pull some strings.”

Obi cried on his grandmother’s shoulders and just let it all out. “Why am I so upset over her dying? She wasn’t much of a mom to me!”

“That aside, she is still your mother. Nothing in the world could change that and you do have some memories of her actually being a mother unlike your twin sisters. Cherish that. And you know what she means to Wolfgang, to Canderous, to your father. And I know you’re still grieving over Sinbad.”

Time went on. A nice large check arrived at the residence as reward for their roll in taking Darius down. Obi was glad for it. His Private Eye funds were not going to fund the twins college tuition and both wanted to go. And Atton had retired from working some time ago. And while he still got some money from the company, hit movie composers aren’t remembered long.

Leia and Mission also turned 18. It was then that they decided they needed to find a place to go to college and they wanted to go to the same college. “Hey, Obi, what college had you been looking at going to?” Mission asked one afternoon.

“University at Starlight Shores. Why?”

“That’s what we thought. It’s got a great science program as well as a writing program,” Mission said, “So let’s try to get in there together. That way we can get an apartment and just not deal with the dorms. It will definitely help Leia out, you know how she is around large groups of strangers.”

“Works for me,” Obi said.

The three then worked hard towards their applications and in a few months had all received word that they had been accepted to the University of Starlight Shores.

Obi worked towards finding an apartment for them to rent. The only one he could find that wasn’t incredibly expensive was a four bedroom apartment that came pre-furnished. The only catch was, the landlord would only rent it if you could fill all bedrooms. Obi talked with the landlord and got him to place a hold on the room for two weeks for them to find a room mate since they were just one person short.

Obi put the following ad out in various places:

Looking for a single room mate. Gender does not matter. Will need to pitch in 1/4 of the rent. Contact Obi Rand at 555-555-5555.

And that’s it for this chapter! How will the Rands like college? Will they get an answer to their ad for a room mate? Find out in chapters to come!

Progress towards Obi’s Goals:

  • Become Private Investigator – Achieved Chapter 2.19
  •  Complete 30 cases
  •  Snoop 10 locations
  •  Write 5 papers on findings
  •  Reach level ten of Private Investigaor Career – He’s at level 1
  •  Go through 5 garbages and 5 mailboxes

Progress toward’s LTW’s

  • Atton – Hit Movie Composer: Hit Movie Composer – Level 10 – MET Chapter 2.14
  • Obi Wan – Perfect Mind, Perfect Body: Level 10 Logic, Level 10 Athletic – Logic is at 2, Athletic is at 3
  • Leia – Professional Author: Earn $4000 a week in royalties – currently earning $35 a week in royalties

And that reveals my other heir for the generation: Leia Rand. She’ll be going after the Writer/Painter goals:

  • Master Painting Skill
  • Master Writing Skill – She’s at level 4
  • Paint 20 paintings
  • Be friends with parents – Due to story reasons I’ll only be considering Atton as her parent.
  • Get 5,000 in royalties (or sell 15,000 from paintings)
  • Paint family pictures (spouse, kids, parents if alive)
  • Join book club (if applicable)

Author’s Note:

Sorry for the long delay. I wanted to get all of the college chapters written and I hit writer’s block a couple of times and I also had to take a break to avoid burn out. Updates should be more frequent now.

3 comments on “Chapter 3.0

  1. amandralynn says:

    Forgot how good lookin’ Obi is. It’s good to see you writing again! Glad to catch up with the Rand’s, even if its a sad situation that brings them back together again. It was nice that Obi was willing to make those difficult calls to let them know that Bailey passed away. I’m glad he got to see his grandma again and Mira was able to give him some comfort. 🙂 I had to re-read the last couple chapters to remember what was going on. Glad to see you are back, and I’m glad taking a break helped! Sometimes its nice to get away from the game for awhile! 🙂 Great chapter!!

  2. Hey Seera. I’ve been behind on your story for a while now, but I always keep you in my bookmarks! Aww, Mira coming to help Obi, that was so awesome that she could do that. Dang, it’s too bad they are one person short for a roommate, but maybe they can make a friend with whoever it is they find to fill the room. I wonder if the roommate will be who I think it is… 🙂

Leave a Reply

