Chapter 3.4

Welcome back to another chapter of Random Branches! In the last chapter Leia realized she was being an ass to her best friend and discovered Jeffery Dean was cheating on her. Max also began a friendship with fellow actor Jordan McDaniels when he helped Leia out when she passed out at a club. And now on with the story.

Mission was tired of serial one night stands. She wanted love. She was in the library reading a science journal for her class when she noticed him. He appeared to be in the ROTC based on his walk and looks. She put the journal in her bag after sticking a bookmark in it and approached the man.

“Hey, I haven’t seen you around. I’m Mission Rand.”

“I just transferred here from the University of Bridgeport. I’m Dillon Thomas. It’s about lunch time. Want to go grab something to eat while we talk?”

Mission said that was fine with her and they went and had lunch together. They talked about anything and everything it seemed like and they did seem to have a lot in common. The two began having regular weekly lunches.

It was no surprise to Mission’s siblings or to Max that the pair started dating. They had decided to keep it casual. Neither were anywhere near ready to settle down. Dillon didn’t want to settle down until he had done his mandatory four years with the Air Force. Mission just wasn’t ready yet. And neither wanted to date seriously until such time as they were ready to settle down.

Leia herself was finally beginning to get over Jeffery, though she was still swearing off love. Her relationship with Max was back to where it was before their fight for the most part. Max was still hurting from the treatment he had received while she dated Jeffery as well as being hurt whenever Leia decided to reiterate that she wasn’t going to fall in love ever again.

Obi mostly focused on his work, having decided that Mindy Foss was the one for him. He just hoped Mindy came to same conclusion and that they were able to reconnect once he graduated. He noticed the change in Mission’s attitude towards romance and was happy that she had finally decided to search for her true love. He hoped she found it in Dillon.

As for his other sister, he could tell Max had fallen for her and still had feelings for her. He was saddened that her closed up heart would not let her see that Max was in love with her and wouldn’t treat her wrong. Who would have thought that the one person he did not want getting with his sisters three years ago, would end up being the one person he wouldn’t mind getting with one of his sisters.

Weeks went by and Mission and Dillon were still going strong, but they still claimed to be casual and they weren’t looking for a relationship that would turn into marriage. At least not yet. They continued going out almost every other night until Mission came down with something stomach related. And she had it bad.

Bad enough, that one morning Leia stepped into the bathroom they shared and said, “We’re going to the doctor’s today. This is day three of you puking your guts out and you can’t pinpoint any food you might have eaten. We’ve gone past the realm of the twenty-four hour stomach flu.”

“But I have class. Finals start next week, we’re doing vital exam review in my class today.”

“Missing one class won’t kill you and neither will a bad grade on a final exam,” Leia said, “If you’ve got a bad virus or something, that could kill you.”

The next day, she was at the doctor’s.

“Have you eaten anything that could have caused this?” the doctor said.

“Nothing that others didn’t eat and I’m the only one who’s ill,” Mission said.

“Do you engage in woohoo?”

“Yes.”

“Alright. I am going to have you take a pregnancy test…”

“But he uses a condom. I can’t be pregnant.”

“Miss, I understand that, but condoms aren’t fool proof.”

The test didn’t take long and soon Mission had her answer. She was pregnant. A few weeks pregnant. The pair drove home in silence. When they got back to the dorm, Leia hugged her twin, “You’ll get through this, Mission. You’ll be a wonderful mother.”

“I’m not ready to be a mother, Leia.”

“Why don’t you give Dad a call…”

“And tell him that some guy knocked me up?”

“One, that some guy is your boyfriend not a random one night stand. Two, do you think Dad was ready to be a father when he learned Alexandra was pregnant with Canderous? And look how Canderous turned out. You’re more ready than you’re giving yourself credit for. I have a feeling he’ll understand just what you’re going through.”

“I don’t know. Dad’s always had a skewed perspective on things. And I need to tell Dillon first. Because Dad will ask about the father and I need to know if he’s going to be supportive or not.”

“Well, he better be supportive if he knows what’s good for him. You do have three very protective brothers.”

 Mission invited Dillon over an hour or so later and said she had something they needed to talk about.

He came over immediately. “What’s wrong? You look upset,” Dillon said.

“I’m pregnant. You’re the father.”

“You’re… you’re sure?”

“Just got back from the doctor’s. Thought my puking was a bad virus or bacterial infection. But it’s morning sickness.”

“I’m not ready to be a father.”

“And you think I’m ready to be a mother?”

“Then abort…”

“No. I will not abort my child.”

“So my happiness is secondary?”

Mission blinked. She couldn’t believe he thought she should put his happiness over the life of their child. “So I should murder our child to make you happy?”

“What kind of life will it have? Neither of us are ready. Neither of us have a job…”

“I thought you had to go into the military for four years? Or are you planning on shirking that responsibility, too?”

“Then our child will be four. I do not plan on making the Army my career. I’m getting out of the military once my four years are up. No questions asked. So that still leaves us with the question of what kind of life our child would have? I say abort now and have a child when we’re married and more financially secure.”

“Did my no, I will not abort my child go in one ear and out the other? I will not abort my child simply because money might be tight. Plus, who knows, maybe I’ll land a great job coming out of college and we have four years of trying to juggle day care and then you can be a stay at home dad after your time in the military is up. And money won’t be an issue. And my father won’t let us starve. Neither will his aunt or his uncles. No, I’m not aborting the child.”

“Then you can raise the kid alone, because I’m not ready for a child and I will not be raising a child until I am ready to.”

“Then consider yourself dumped because I’m not going to be with someone who is so heartless. Get out of here. And don’t you dare even once try for any type of visitation. You don’t get to choose when you want to be a father to our child. You’re either always the father or never the father and if you don’t change your mind about raising the kid then you best walk out of here and accept that you’ll never be the father.”

Dillon simply said bye and walked out of the door.

Mission ran up and barricaded herself in her room.

Max got home from work a few hours later and heard crying upstairs. He saw Leia and Obi were down stairs so it must be Mission that was crying. “What’s wrong with Mission?”

Obi opened and closed his mouth. Leia turned around said, “She’s pregnant. Asshole Dillon told her to abort the child. Accused her of putting the life of her child over his happiness like that was a bad thing when Mission said she wasn’t aborting.. Then when Mission said she was still not going to abort the child, he told her to raise the kid herself. Mission dumped him. She’s been locked in her room ever since and she won’t let anyone in. Not even Leia.”

“That’s why she’s been puking lately, isn’t it? Morning sickness,” Max said.

“Yea,” Leia said.

“I wish kicking someone’s ass wasn’t illegal,” Obi said.

“I’ve done a fair amount of damage. Posted on my wall about what asshole did. Asshole’s lucky Grandpa’s dead.”

“No, he’s lucky Aunt Kreia’s dead. Grandpa drew the line at murder. Aunt Kreia drew it at cold blooded murder. I’m not sure she would consider killing Asshole to be in cold blood. Or well, she’d kick his ass several times over at least,” Obi said.

“You talk as if you had criminals in your family,” Max said.

“We did,” Leia said, “Master Thief of Moonlight Falls for a while was our Grandpa and I’m sure you’ve heard of Revan. She was our Aunt Kreia.”

“Every family has its secrets. I’ll go try talking to her,” Max said.

Max knocked on Mission’s door. “Hey, it’s Max. Can I come in?”

“Go away. I don’t want to talk to anyone!”

“Can I get you anything, then? Some food. Something to drink?”

“No. I want to go home!”

“I can drive you home. Your first final isn’t until Tuesday. It’s Friday afternoon. I can take you home today and bring you back on Monday morning.”

“I have to study.”

“You can study at home. And how well do you think you’re going to focus here when you’re really wanting to be home?”

Mission was quiet for a while before she sighed. Max was right. She got up and opened the door and said, “What about your job?”

“We’re done shooting for the week. I’ll tell the director I’ll miss Monday’s shoot because something came up that I couldn’t get out of. Leia and Obi have critical finals on Monday morning. Me taking you will give the most time at home before you have to return.”

“Alright.”

It only took Max and Mission an hour or so to get packed and head off for Mission’s home in Moonlight Falls.

As Obi and Leia got ready for bed, Obi had a thought, “They should be arriving in Moonlight Falls about now. Oh shit. We probably should have called home to let them know a non-approved mundane is coming to town.”

“He’ll be fine. He’s with Mission.”

“Yea, a very upset Mission. Let’s just hope it’s not Alistair who runs into him as it is a full moon.”

And that’s it for this chapter! Will Max and Mission make it home just fine? Will Atton know what to say to his daughter to make her feel more at ease while being pregnant? Find out in chapters to come!

Progress towards Obi’s Goals:

  • Become Private Investigator – Achieved Chapter 2.19
  •  Complete 30 cases
  •  Snoop 10 locations
  •  Write 5 papers on findings
  •  Reach level ten of Private Investigaor Career – He’s at level 1
  •  Go through 5 garbages and 5 mailboxes

Progress towards Leia’s Goals:

  • Master Painting Skill – She’s at level 6
  • Master Writing Skill – She’s at level 8
  • Paint 20 paintings
  • Be friends with parents – Due to story reasons I’ll only be considering Atton as her parent.
  • Get 5,000 in royalties (or sell 15,000 from paintings) – She’s got like $2568 in royalties
  • Paint family pictures (spouse, kids, parents if alive)
  • Join book club (if applicable)

Progress toward’s LTW’s

  • Atton – Hit Movie Composer: Hit Movie Composer – Level 10 – MET Chapter 2.14
  • Obi Wan – Perfect Mind, Perfect Body: Level 10 Logic, Level 10 Athletic – Logic is at 3, Athletic is at 5
  • Leia – Professional Author: Earn $4000 a week in royalties – currently earning $896 a week in royalties
One comment on “Chapter 3.4

  1. amandralynn says:

    Poor Mission. I knew she was pregnant right from the minute she threw up. Sims never seem to just ‘have the flu’

Leave a Reply

