Chapter 3.5

Welcome back to another chapter of Random Branches! In the last chapter, Mission began dating Dillon Thomas and near the end of the winter semester, found herself pregnant with his child. When she informed Dillon of the pregnancy, he said he was not going to be supportive at all, and Mission dumped him, heart broken. At the very end of the chapter, Max volunteered to give Mission a weekend at home since she wanted to go home. And now, on with the story.

Max and Mission made it to just inside of the Moonlight Falls border when Max’s car just suddenly shut off. “I thought you said your car was in good working order?” Mission asked

“It is! I’ll get out and see if I can’t get it working,” Max said, puzzled and thanked whoever was up there that it was a full moon as the sun was rapidly setting.

Max had the hood up when he heard a noise coming from the woods. Something about the noise unnerved him and he began to try to fix the car faster.

“Who are you and what are you doing in Moonlight Falls?” a voice suddenly boomed behind Max.

“I don’t have to answer that question,” Max said turning around quickly.

“Oh, really? What if you’re here to hunt and kill occults? I can’t allow you in. And I’ve been told to assume that anyone who doesn’t tell their intention has ill intent towards the town and or it’s residents. I think I should send a message to all of your little buddies…”

Mission was in the car when suddenly heard someone confront Max. The voice sounded familiar, yet different. When she remembered it was a full moon, compared with the awfully violent method the person was suggesting to get Max to spill his reasons for coming to Moonlight Falls she realized immediately who it was and jumped out of the car. “Alistair! Stop!”

“You… you know this guy?” Max said.

“Yea, he’s one of my father’s best friends,” Mission then turned to Alistair and said, “Max is taking me home. To spend the weekend. No need to send a message.”

Alistair had stopped when heard the familiar voice and had noticed it was Mission Rand. But she smelt different. He approached her and saw that her eyes were red. “Has he harmed you? And what’s changed about you?”

“No, Max didn’t harm me. And you can smell when someone’s pregnant?”

“Is he the father?”

“No. And no, I’m not telling you who while there is still a full moon. You’re liable to murder someone and you don’t need to be in jail.”

Alistair snorted and pulled a device out of his pocket and pressed a button. “Car should work now.”

“Good and since no harm was done, I won’t mention that you almost crossed the line with your threats tonight,” Mission said.

Alistair rubbed the back of his head with a sheepish grin and ran off into the forest.

The pair drove in silence for the rest of the way short of Mission directing Max where to go. They got out of the car and Max said, “What in the world was that?”

“If you mean Alistair, that was a werewolf,” Mission said, “Let’s go inside and let you meet my dad.”

“Dad! I’m home for the weekend!” Mission yelled as she entered the house.

“Aren’t your finals next week?” Atton asked, stepping out of the dining room.

Mission’s lower lip trembled.

Atton pulled his daughter into a hug and just let her cry.

Max stepped further into the house to give father and daughter some privacy. He peered into the dining room and saw they weren’t the only one paying a visit here. He noticed right away the guy was a vampire and stepped into the dining room. “Maximus Zenteri,” he said as a way of greeting the vampire.

“Ian Destansi,” the vampire countered, “And did you say Zenteri? As in the family that was cursed years ago by a witch even more insane than Atton and I combined?”

“I don’t know about her level of insanity, but yes, I did say Zenteri and I am a member of that family. How do you know of the curse?” Max said and sat down

“One I’m a vampire. What decent vampire doesn’t know of the Agosti-Zenteri feud and the curse that it resulted from? Two, this is Moonlight Falls. Home of occults. The one place in all of Sim Nation where there are more occults than mundanes. Third, getting the old ghost lady Eleanor Stevens who is a founder of Moonlight Falls going on Eleanor Zenteri is just way too much fun to pass up.”

“Do you know if the curse can be lifted?”

“Eleanor Zenteri took that bit of information to the grave. You don’t seemed all that shocked to meet a vampire. Most mundanes scream when they see a vampire for the first time.”

“You’re not the first vampire I’ve met. One lived at my house when I was growing up.”

“Oh, so you’re the child of the one they think might be able to vanquish the curse.”

“How do you know that?”

“One, I’m a vampire. I could have read your mind,” Ian said with a smirk, “Don’t worry I didn’t. I happen to know that the higher ups have got a vampire keeping an eye on her to help her succeed. An Agosti descendant.”

A sudden pop made Max jump.

“Dear lord, Matias, you’re going to give the mundane a heart attack,” Ian said as he watched Matias and Nicholai sit down next to him

“It’s not like Atton gets guests that don’t live in Moonlight Falls all that often. Last one I know of was you. Back when you weren’t a member of the Immortal Council.”

“One minute, Leia mentioned that a Lucian Dracule was the vampire member of the Immortal Council,” Max interrupted.

Nicholai turned to Max and said, “He was. He got tired of immortal life and passed the reigns onto Ian here. No earthly idea why. Ian Destansi is certifiably insane and a former Master Thief. I’m Nicholai Tritten by the way and I’m a wizard. The genie is Matias Wisherton.”

“Wisherton?”

“Genies don’t naturally have last names. However Sim Nation laws require I have one. So I made up Wisherton.”

“One minute, we were here last night and you guys weren’t here. You got here tonight, didn’t you? Please tell me Alistair behaved himself?” Nicholai asked.

“If by behave you mean he didn’t try to physically rip my arms off, yes, he behaved.”

“Ebony says that former crooks don’t make for horrible Council members. She submits Alistair as evidence,” Ian said.

“Ebony is a figment of your imagination. You’re the one…” Nicholai started.

“Nicholai, what was Lucian’s last order to you?” Matias said.

“To not get too riled up about Ian’s imaginary friends.”

“I turned one real and married her, you know,” Ian said.

“We know,” Nicholai said and turned to Max, “Sorry about that. You are?”

“Maximus Zenteri.” Max answered.

Atton just let Mission cry for a while before breaking the hug. “What’s wrong, Mission?”

“I’m not ready to be a mother.”

‘You’re pregnant?”

“Uh huh, a few weeks pregnant. What if I can’t get a good job and we live in poverty? How will I be able to be a good mother then?”

“All it takes to be a good mother is to love your child unconditionally and be there for your child and that’s what you’ll do, so you’ll be a good mother. And what about the father?”

“He… he doesn’t want anything to do with the child. He… told me to abort.”

“Were you in a relationship with him?” Atton asked.

“A casual one. Neither of us at the time wanted to get serious. But I’ve dumped him. I don’t want to be with someone who does not listen to what I say and would put his happiness over that of his child. And told him he was not to try for any type of relationship with his child.”

“His loss because your child is going to be wonderful,” Atton said, “Are you planning on staying here for the weekend or going home in the morning?”

“At least stay through to Sunday. May go back Sunday afternoon or Monday morning.”

“Alright. Time for me to properly meet the man who brought you home. I hear voices in the kitchen and dining room so he’s probably there.”

“I have a house full of guests tonight,” Atton said with a laugh before turning to Max, “I’m Atton Rand.”

“Hello Mr. Rand,” Max said, “I’m Maximus Zenteri.”

Atton laughed, “Just call me Atton. Thank you for bringing Mission home.”

“And just call me Max. And you’re welcome.”

The group talked for a while about Mission’s pregnancy and how things would progress as well as current events. When Monday morning rolled around, Max took Mission back to college.

And that’s it for this chapter! Why did Lucian choose Ian Destansi to replace him? Will Mission’s pregnancy go smoothly and will she be the mother everyone thinks she can be? Find out in chapters to come!

Progress towards Obi’s Goals:

  • Become Private Investigator – Achieved Chapter 2.19
  •  Complete 30 cases
  •  Snoop 10 locations
  •  Write 5 papers on findings
  •  Reach level ten of Private Investigator Career – He’s at level 1
  •  Go through 5 garbages and 5 mailboxes

Progress towards Leia’s Goals:

  • Master Painting Skill – She’s at level 6
  • Master Writing Skill – She’s at level 8
  • Paint 20 paintings
  • Be friends with parents – Due to story reasons I’ll only be considering Atton as her parent.
  • Get 5,000 in royalties (or sell 15,000 from paintings) – She’s got like $2568 in royalties
  • Paint family pictures (spouse, kids, parents if alive)
  • Join book club (if applicable)

Progress toward’s LTW’s

  • Atton – Hit Movie Composer: Hit Movie Composer – Level 10 – MET Chapter 2.14
  • Obi Wan – Perfect Mind, Perfect Body: Level 10 Logic, Level 10 Athletic – Logic is at 3, Athletic is at 5
  • Leia – Professional Author: Earn $4000 a week in royalties – currently earning $896 a week in royalties

~~~

Author’s Note:

Ian Destansi is on the Immortal Council now. And he is insane. He doesn’t have the altered perception of the world like Atton does, but his voices are much more pronounced. Atton’s don’t have distinct personalities to the point that names have been given, unlike Ian.

Ian’s traits are Insane, Savvy Sculptor, Neurotic, Heavy Sleeper, and Ambitious.

I do have the next external problem the family will face brewing in the back of my mind. However, this one will be the opposite of the Darius plot. It will get kick started in Random Paths and most likely dealt with finally as a major part of this story. I was hoping for the two stories to drift apart where I did not need to make sure they keep up with each other time wise in the story, but I needed a plot for my gen 2 heiress in Random Paths that would fit in with the roll I’ve got. And I’m already putting the pieces into place here.

One comment on “Chapter 3.5

  1. amandralynn says:

    Atton gave his daughter great advice, and Mission will be a great mother. Its normal to have worries. It’s a big step.

Leave a Reply

