Chapter 3.9

Welcome back to another chapter of Random Branches! In the last chapter, Max came clean to Leia about his family history. Instead of kicking him out of her life, Leia reached out to the one person she thought could help with the matter: Nicholai Tritten. Nicholai was able to place a counter spell to reduce the effects of the curse on Max and his decedents however he did warn that it could draw the ire of an evil and powerful witch clan. And now on with the story.

Carth was over again as he wasn’t too fond of being in his apartment alone all that much. Not to mention, it was a family get together. Mission and Jordan were over with infant Dustil.  Carth had just sat down to eat some burnt pancakes while watching Atton play a racing game when Atton suddenly put the controller down. “Atton, the race isn’t over,” he said.

“I know, but I feel funny and tired. Mostly tired.”

Carth put the plate of pancakes down guessing what was happening. “Obi! Leia! Mission!” he cried out, “Get down here now!”

By the time they got down there with Mindy, Max, and Jordan following close behind, Atton had turned ghost like and Grim Reaper had appeared.

Max pulled Leia in close as she began to cry and he noticed Jordan doing the same for Mission. He noticed Obi leaning hard on the back of the couch and Mindy putting her arm around him. And he saw that Carth had collapsed back down onto the couch.

They cried for a while before Obi stood up and said, “I’ll get the phone calls started.” He stepped off to the side and called Canderous first. He hoped he wasn’t on another tour of duty yet. Obi didn’t want to have to be the strong one again and based on how his uncle looked, Uncle Carth couldn’t be the strong one this time.

“I don’t have much time before we ship out, Obi, make it quick,” Canderous said when he answered.

“Canderous, Dad just died.”

“Give… give me a couple of hours to get leave and I’ll be over. I’ll handle the calls if you don’t want to. I know you’ve handled them a lot.

A couple hours later and Canderous was over. He comforted his younger brother and his uncle before he started tackling the phone calls. His first call was to the last sibling who wasn’t aware.

“Hey, Canderous. Aren’t you headed off on another tour of duty here soon? I thought Nicholai was watching your kids for this tour?” Wolfgang said, “One second. Miranda and Eva! Turn that television off, you are to do your homework before watching tv! Do not make me tell you again! Sorry about that.”

“I was. But I got a call from Obi. Dad died a few hours ago. I’m on leave.”

“Dad… Dad’s dead. You’re at Obi and Leia’s then, I take it?”

“Yea. Uncle Carth’s already here. Was with Dad when it happened apparently. Mission’s already over, it was a family get together. You have to come through Moonlight Falls to get here, right?”

“Yea, why?”

“I really don’t think Alistair should be told over the phone.”

“No, he probably shouldn’t. I’ll give Pip and the other members of the Council a call for you as well.”

“Thanks. See you when you get here.”

He made a few other phone calls before he could only think of one person that hadn’t been told. His biological mother, Alexandra Stevens. Her words a few Christmases ago had stuck with him. That she still loved his father in her own way, like his own father had still loved both her and Bailey. But would inviting her be smart?

“You’re thinking about your mother, aren’t you, Canderous?” Carth asked.

“How… how did you guess?” Canderous asked.

“I heard you had reconnected with her and had formed a good relationship with her. And I heard through the grapevine enough details to figure out she didn’t leave because she didn’t love Atton at all. Just not enough to give up her dream. Go on and call her and I wouldn’t have a problem with her coming to the funeral and neither would any of the guests, or at least not enough to cause a scene at Atton’s funeral. I may not like her, but I know your father never stopped loving her and she is your mother. You have every right to reach out to her for comfort.”

Canderous called his mother.

“Hey,” Alexandra said.

“Mom, Dad died. You’re… you’re welcome to come to the funeral if you want. And I wouldn’t mind you coming over even if you don’t plan on attending the funeral.”

“His brother won’t have a problem with that? His siblings weren’t too fond of me and I know his sister’s dead.”

“It was Carth who told me he wouldn’t have an issue with you going to the funeral.”

Meanwhile, Wolfgang got his cousins ready for a trip to Starlight Shores via Moonlight Falls. He’d hire a babysitter, but Miranda and Eva wanted to see their relatives again. And they weren’t toddlers, they’d understand what the funeral meant. He’d called Pip and Lucian after getting off the phone with Canderous and had called most of the Immortal Council Members except for Alistair. It was a several hour drive and soon he was Alistair’s house after picking Pip up.

He took a deep breath when he got to the door and knocked.

Alistair opened the door and saw an upset Wolfgang at his door. “What’s wrong? Why are you so far from home?”

Wolfgang just stood there for a few seconds, “My father passed away yesterday. I know you two were close and you deserved to be told in person.”

“At… Atton’s dead?” Alistair choked out, taking a couple steps back.

Wolfgang nodded, not trusting his own voice at the moment.

Alistair howled in grief at the confirmation.

“Alistair, who’s at the door?” said a woman who approached the door. Wolfgang saw her carrying a toddler and smiled slightly.

“I’m Wolfgang Avilla-Rand, miss. My father, Atton, just passed away yesterday.”

“I’m sorry we couldn’t meet on better terms, Wolfgang,” the woman said, ‘I’ve heard so much about you and your family. I’m Morgana. Alistair’s wife. This is Isaiah, our first and currently only child. Do you have time for a bite to eat before you head off?”

Wolfgang looked at his watch and said, “We have some time. Let me go fetch the others I’m taking to the funeral.”

“So you’re still looking after her kids?” Alistair asked, breaking the silence.

“Yea. Brett’s still not financially or mentally really to handle raising them. I doubt he will ever be, to be honest. Plus, the girls like their school and I’d hate to uproot them. I see you’ve moved on from your past.”

“Slowly, but surely. Morgana has been very supportive of me. But, Atton passing away has shown that I have made progress. I’m not in that depressive state I was several years ago. I have your father to thank for busting my hard interior. And you’ve grown attached to those two, haven’t you?”

“He has,” Lindy Avilla-Rand, Wolfgang’s wife, said, “I’ve grown attached as well. Wolfgang and I were a couple for several years before we got married. An unexpected pregnancy made us realize how much we love each other. I’m only a few months along.”

“Congratulations,” Morgana said, “I haven’t told Alistair, but this is as good of a time as any. I’m pregnant again. Just a couple weeks pregnant. Did Alistair or another member of the Council tell you guys that Alistair has been made leader of the Council?”

“No. We knew Lucian had stepped down and given the role to Ian Destansi, but we had thought the leadership passed to the other founder of the Council, Eleanor,” Wolfgang said

“Nope. I’ve got it,” Alistair said, “Lucian said it was mine as soon as he felt I had forgiven myself for what happened all those years ago and I have. I’ll never forget, but I have forgiven.”

The group chatted for a while before Alistair excused himself to go pack. And within the hour, they were on the way again.

The funeral was a nice one. It was what Atton would have wanted. And everyone around him knew that he died happy.

And that’s it for this chapter!

Progress towards Obi’s Goals:

  • Become Private Investigator – Achieved Chapter 2.19
  • Complete 30 cases
  • Snoop 10 locations
  • Write 5 papers on findings
  • Reach level ten of Private Investigator Career – He’s at level 1
  • Go through 5 garbages and 5 mailboxes

Progress towards Leia’s Goals:

  • Master Painting Skill – She’s at level 8
  • Master Writing Skill – She’s at level 10 – Completed behind the scenes Chapter 3.8
  • Paint 20 paintings – Painted 5 paintings
  • Be friends with parents – Completed Chapter 3.7 behind the scenes.
  • Get 5,000 in royalties (or sell 15,000 from paintings) – She’s got like $2568 in royalties
  • Paint family pictures (spouse, kids, parents if alive)
  • Join book club (if applicable)

Progress towards Max’s goals:

  • Join Film career (Plumbob Pictures Backlot, may need to place it) – Achieved behind the scenes Chapter 3.1
  • Max writing
  • Max charisma – Level 10 – Completed behind the scenes Chapter 3.8
  • Become level 5 celebrity – 4 stars
  • Have kid
  • Reach Level 10 of the Actor branch – Level 5 – Production Manager

Progress toward’s LTW’s

  • Atton – Hit Movie Composer: Hit Movie Composer – Level 10 – MET Chapter 2.14
  • Obi Wan – Perfect Mind, Perfect Body: Level 10 Logic, Level 10 Athletic – Logic is at 5, Athletic is at 7
  • Leia – Professional Author: Earn $4000 a week in royalties – currently earning $4000+ a week in royalties – Completed behind the scenes Chapter 3.8
  • Maximus – Superstar Actor – Production Manager – Level 5

~~~

Author’s Note:

Some unfamiliar or not seen in a while faces turned up this chapter.

  • The kids who were hugging are Sean Rand, Wolfgang’s kid, and Eva Wallis, Kreia’s kid and Atton’s niece.
  • The elder lady comforting Canderous is Alexandra.
  • The black haired guy comforting the brown haired girl are Bailey’s half siblings, Dominique and Liliana.
  • The black haired lady comforting Wolfgang is Kelsey, Wolfgang’s ex. The pair still loves each other.

In case you missed the plot point in the middle of the chapter, Alistair has control of the Immortal Council. Atton was indeed told of Alistair’s wedding the birth of Isaiah. It happened behind the scenes while Obi, Mission, and Leia were off at college. The stop at Alistair’s is to show that he has moved on. That thanks to his bond with Atton, he was able to forgive himself and let others in. He does still view the Rands and the Wallises as members of his pack. The Wallises due to blood and the Rands due to his bond with Atton.

Leave a Reply

